Number 1. 2013
Estudios bizantinos is a digital and international open-access journal of Byzantine Studies. It has been created by the Sociedad Española de Bizantinística and it welcomes scientific papers with original and high-quality content on any aspect of the Byzantine civilisation.



The journal Estudios bizantinos aims to be a communication tool at the service of the community formed by scholars of the Byzantine world. To this end, the contents published are offered to readers in Open Access, under a Creative Commons license. Its creation by the Sociedad Española de Bizantinística (Spanish Society of Byzantine Studies) is seen as a means to achieve the overall objective of promoting Byzantine Studies in Spanish-speaking countries.
Estudios bizantinos is an international journal, published annually, open to all those who wish to publicize their research on any aspect of Byzantine civilization. Although the editors of the journal are open to receive content in all languages​​, we feel that publication in languages which are less common ​​in scientific circles is detrimental to the assessments and reviews of the research presented in the journal; we therefore encourage authors to submit their work in English, French or Spanish.
Originals sent to the journal’s editorial office should deal with one or more of the following areas:

  • Byzantine Civilization: archaeology, art, law, philology, philosophy, history, linguistics, palaeography, theology, etc.
  • The impact of Byzantium and its relationship with neighbouring peoples.
  • Late Antiquity in both the Western and the Eastern Mediterranean and, in particular, Byzantium’s contacts with the Iberian Peninsula and Western Christianity.
  • Relationships with the Slavic, Latin and Islamic cultures.

The journal may devote part of each annual volume to a single theme, with its own introduction and accompanying materials.
Works presented for publication will be submitted to an evaluation process which will decide as quickly as possible whether to accept or reject it  [see Publication policy].
We encourage readers of Estudios bizantinos to subscribe to the journal in order to receive the latest news of publication. They can also learn about other news relating to Byzantium on the web of the Sociedad española de Bizantinística.


Managing editor
Inmaculada Pérez Martín  (CSIC, Madrid)

Editorial board
Raúl Estangüi  (CNRS, Paris)
Anthony Kaldellis (Columbus, Ohio University)
Giuseppe Mandalà (CSIC, Madrid)
Ernest Marcos Hierro (Universidad de Barcelona)
Mar Marcos Sánchez (Universidad de Cantabria)
Juan Pedro Monferrer (Universidad de Córdoba)
Juan Antonio Álvarez Pedrosa (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
Juan Signes Codoñer (Universidad de Valladolid)
Margarita Vallejo (Universidad de Alcalá de Henares)

Raúl Caballero Sánchez (Universidad de Málaga)

Advisory Board
Josep Amengual i Batle (M.SS.CC, Mallorca)
Francisco Javier Andrés Santos (Facultad de Derecho, Universidad de Valladolid)
Javier Arce (Université de Lille)
Daniele Arnesano (Bari)
Isabella Baldini Lippolis (Università di Bologna)
Albrecht Berger (Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München)
Costas N. Constantinides (University of Ioannina)
John M. Duffy (Harvard University)
Francisco M.ª Fernández Jiménez (Inst. Sup. de Estudios Teológicos San Ildefonso)
Christian Gastgeber (Universität Wien)
Jonathan Harris (Hellenic Institute, Royal Holloway, University of London)
David Hernández de la Fuente (UNED)
Martin Hinterberger (University of Cyprus)
Michel Kaplan (Université Paris-I)
Francisco F. Lisi (Universidad Carlos III)
Michael Maas (Rice University, Texas)
Caroline Macé (Université de Louvain)
Paul Magdalino (Koç University, Istambul)
Athanasios Markopoulos (University of Athens)
Moschos Morfakidis (Universidad de Granada)
Encarnación Motos Girao (Universidad de Granada)
Joseph Munitiz (S.J., Birmingham University)
Paolo Odorico (EHESS, Paris)
Arietta Papaconstantinou (University of Reading)
Georgi Parpulov (Oxford University)
Jesús Polo Arrondo (Universidad Eclesiástica San Dámaso, Madrid)
Claudia Rapp (Universität Wien)
Antonio Rigo (Università Ca’ Foscari, Venezia)
Charlotte Roueché (University of London)
Peter Schreiner (Universität zu Köln)
Juana Torres Prieto (Universidad de Cantabria)
Giorgio Vespignani (Università di Bologna)
Staffan Wahlgren (Norges teknisk-naturvitenskapelige Universitet)
Enrico Zanini (Università di Siena)